Matale District

Matale District is a district in Central Province, Sri Lanka. It is one of 25 districts of Sri Lanka, the second level administrative division of the country. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The administrative capital and largest city of the district is Matale.

The district is considered as the central region of the island and has a total area of 1,993 km2 (770 sq mi). It is in the northern part of the Central Province. It is bounded to the north by Anuradhapura, east by PolonnaruwaBadulla and Ampara, west by Kurunagala and to the south by Kandy Districts.

【Text by Lakpura™. Images by Google, copyright(s) reserved by original authors.】

Activities from Matale